WCGS Alumni Advisory Council

Dear WCGS Alumni,

For the first time in Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences history, we have established an Alumni Advisory Council (AAC), consisting of 15 alumni members representing all degrees granted by the graduate school – Ph.D., M.S. and the Physician Assistant program.  

Our mission is simple: To engage WCGS alumni in a manner mutually beneficial to each of us and to the graduate school, with the ultimate goal of strengthening our alumni community. 

As co-chairs of the AAC, we lead quarterly meetings where we seek input on special events, engagement, fundraising projects and more. Working closely with Dr. Barbara L. Hempstead, dean of WCGS, we keep a pulse on graduate school happenings and offer suggestions for alumni involvement. We specifically address areas in which alumni participation may be helpful, including career development, community building, diversity and inclusion, faculty education and enterprise innovation. 

In collaboration with WCGS faculty and staff, we have created numerous opportunities for all alumni to be involved. A complete list of opportunities will be made available shortly.

As WCGS alumni, we all represent the building blocks of a successful alumni program. It is our participation that will help create a vibrant and thriving alumni community at WCGS. 

On behalf of the Alumni Advisory Council, we thank you for being a part of the WCGS alumni community and we hope you join us and get involved. Please visit the alumni website and feel free to reach out directly to one of us or to alumni director Sharon Meiri Fox at shm2056@med.cornell.edu to learn more. We look forward to strengthening the WCGS alumni community with you. 

In gratitude,

Ting Jia (Ph.D. ’08)
Kate Rochlin (Ph.D. ’14)

Co-Chairs, Alumni Advisory Council


Sara B. Glickstein Bar-Zeev, (Ph.D. '00)

Andrea D. Basso-Porcaro (Ph.D. '03)

Susannah F. Calhoun (Ph.D. '17)

R.V. Paul Chan, M.D., (M.S. ’08), M.B.A.

Andrea Cohen, MBA ’19, M.S. ’19, M.P.A.

Derik de Bruin (Ph.D. '93)

Sam Globus (Ph.D. '13)

Cali Howitt, (Ph.D. ’09)

Ting Jia (Ph.D. '08), Co-Chair

Rebecca Jones (Ph.D. '12)

Michael Kaufmann (Ph.D. '16), M.B.A. ’17

Dave Lennon (Ph.D. '01)

Jamie McBean (Ph.D. '14)

Meghan Newcomer (P.A. '16)

Kate Rochlin (Ph.D. '14), Co-Chair

Kathryn "KC” Schierberl (Ph.D. '14) (neuro)

Joel Schrock (Ph.D. '14), MBA ’15

Cassie Yuan (pharmacology Ph.D. student)

Bojana Zupan (Ph.D. '09)

Office of Alumni Relations 1300 York Avenue, Box 61 New York, NY 10065 Phone: 646-962-9560