Award of Distinction Dinner

Wednesday, May 31, 2017 - 7:00pm
Griffis Faculty Club

Established in 1949, the annual Award of Distinction recognizes an alumnus who has demonstrated exceptional achievement in education, research or patient care, and who has brought honor and acclaim to the Medical College. The honoree is recognized at the Alumni Award of Distinction dinner, marches with the Commencement Platform Party, and receives a special plaque presented by the dean during commencement.

2017 Recipient: W. Michael Scheld, MD '73

W. Michael Scheld, MD, is currently the Bayer-Gerald Mandell Professor of Infectious Diseases, Professor of Medicine, and Clinical Professor of Neurosurgery at the University of Virginia, School of Medicine. He received his BS with honors and distinction from Cornell University followed by his medical degree (with election to Alpha Omega Alpha) from Weill Cornell Medical College. He completed his internship, residency, and fellowship in Infectious Diseases at the University of Virginia Health System.

Dr Scheld is the recipient of numerous honors and awards including the following: recipient of the Connie Guion honorary scholarship at Cornell University Medical College; recipient of the “Good Physician Award”, Cornell University Medical College; recipient on three occasions of the “Attending of the Year Award” chosen by vote of the medical housestaff at the University of Virginia; recipient of a Clinical Investigator Award from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases; recipient of the Southern Section American Federation for Clinical Research–Young Clinical Investigator Award in 1986; a member of the Interscience Conference on Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy Program Committee for twelve years (1986-1997, including service as vice chair and chair); recipient of the Virginia State Council for Higher Education Outstanding Faculty Award in 1989; recipient of the Dean’s Award for excellence in teaching at the University of Virginia (1993 and 2000); a member of the American Board of Internal Medicine Subspecialty Board on Infectious Diseases (1997-2004) and chair of Subspecialty Board on Infectious Diseases (2000-2004); recipient of the Department of Internal Medicine Award for excellence in teaching on two occasions (2000 and 2004); vice president, president elect, president (2002-2003) and immediate past president of the Infectious Diseases Society of America; a founding member of the Academic Alliance for AIDS and Care and Prevention in Africa; recipient, University of Virginia Distinguished Scientist Award (2012); and recipient, David A. Harrison Distinguished Educator Award, University of Virginia School of Medicine (2015).

To view previous Award of Distinction Recipients, click here.


Office of Alumni Relations 1300 York Avenue, Box 61 New York, NY 10065 Phone: 646-962-9560